About Codex

The Codex Alimentarius is an international food code that serves as the basis for many national food standards. It covers:



  • food labelling;
  • food additives;
  • residues of pesticides and veterinary drugs;
  • contaminants;
  • food hygiene;
  • nutrition and foods for special dietary uses;
  • food import and export inspection and certification systems;
  • methods of analysis and sampling.


Administered jointly by the Food and Agricutlure Organization of the United Nations and the World Health Organization, the Codex Alimentarius Commission meets every two years to set standards and guidelines.



The Commission, founded in 1962, regularly convenes international meetings to discuss specific aspects of food production and food trade based on expert advice.